Acrylic nails alternative; UV gel nails. How and why Helen switched.

Have you ladies, guys, girls and anyone in between heard about “UV GEL NAILS”?
Most of you ladies out there who get their nails done regularly probably have.
I used to get acrylic nails done on me but I hated it for 2 main reasons.
  1. it smells like hell
  2. it hurts like hell when you have to take it off

Sooooo, I was looking for alternatives and came across “uv gel nails”. I switched and I switched FOREVER. I am not going back to acrylic nails ever again.

For those of you who aren’t quite familiar with it,

It’s like acrylic nails but even better

  • Because there’s barely any foul smell to deal with and it dries instantly when u cure in the uv lamp
  • they don’t chip or fade for at least 2-3 weeks
  • you only need to maintain it when ur nails grow out(fill in)
  • it basically has all the benefits of getting acrylic nails(strong, shiny/glossy nails) minus the bad part.

The thing about getting your nails done is though, it looks great but your wallet isn’t going to be too happy when you have to shell out $25-55 each session. I had mine done with acrylics and she topped it off with UV gel coat and asked $35 for it. She did not even do a good job.

Image

I had to trim them when I got home because the edges were still sharp. they were also uneven. NOT PROFESSIONAL. I was pretty unhappy and never went back. I started doing my own acrylic nails like these

Image

I like unusual, funky nails. The girl at the nail salon when asked if she knew how to do snake skin nails she said for $55, yes. I said use black and gold and she uses silver glitters and put dots on the black background. THAT IS NOT HOW IT’S DONE. I got it done in LA once and they used some netting to create the patterns and put the next color over and filed it down later to reveal the pattern. ughhh and she overcharged me too. I was NOT happy.

Anyways, for those reasons I hate going to the nails salons. All they seem to care is how to charge more, and i was sick of crappy services/imcompetent nail techs, especially in Monterey County Aread in California(where I used to live before I moved to Santa Cruz)

I started doing my own nails but this time not acrylics. I will be showing you how to do UV GEL NAILS in my next blog. See you soon!!!

3 responses to “Acrylic nails alternative; UV gel nails. How and why Helen switched.

  1. I like unusual funky nails too. Alas I lack the patience/skill to do them! Where do you like to buy the things to stick on them? I think I am the same way in general with makeup/accessories compared to other people. Like, I’d rather have a weird, “centerpiece” type of necklace than a classic, simple looking one … and with makeup, I am really not interested in neutrals or nudes. I like color and sparkles. Right now my main color for makeup is white,silver for the eyes, combined with gold or this new white shimmery thing I just got. ^_^

  2. i think this are soooooo coool i wish i would of seen them earlyr!!!!

Leave a Reply

